History of CNAV

CNAV was established on 16 July 2005 following a Victorian Small Rural Communities Health Conference at Omeo in late 2003.

It is open to any community newspaper in Victoria.  A community newspaper is defined as ‘one that is owned by its community’.  Community newspapers have a very strong culture of volunteerism.

Associate membership is available to interstate and overseas community newspapers, natural persons, State and Commonwealth government departments, local government, business or community group having an interest in the area served by CNAV.


Community newspapers are the voice of the community

Mission statement

We will actively work with our members to enhance the capacity and standing of community newspapers to enable them to fully realise their role in their communities


  1. To develop an active network that will support the development and continuation of community newspapers in local communities.
  2. To raise the profile of community newspapers with all levels of government.
  3. To foster co-operation between community newspapers.
  4. To hold an annual conference and awards night.

Committee of Management

Jens Kristian Toft Hansen

Jens Kristian Toft Hansen


(Ferntree Gully News)
Mick O'Mara

Mick O'Mara

Committee Member

(Winchelsea Star)
Caroline Roff

Caroline Roff


(Koo Wee Rup Blackfish)
Mary Farrow

Mary Farrow

Committee Member

(Emerald Messenger)
Anne Brackley

Anne Brackley


(SpringDale Messenger)

Helen Smith

Helen Smith


(Village Bell)
Sandra Miller

Sandra Miller

Web Marketing

(Warrandyte Diary)


Committee Member


History of Committee members

Aborete, Terefe 2007
Allen, Daniel 2008-2009
Beales, Jenny 2006-2007
Billings, Graeme 2006
Bolmat, Michelle 2005-2006
Boudourian, Thea 2013-2015
Bourke OAM, Mick 2005–2008, 2013-ongoing (President 2005-2008)
Brackley, Ann 2016-ongoing (Secretary 2016)
Bradfield, Karen 2008-2009
Burgoyne, Sandy 2006–2008
Campbell, Berni 2008-2009
Cook, Marina 2013–2014
Croucher, Tim 2013-2016
Downie, Alexia 2015-ongoing (Vice President 2016)
Ellis, John 2008 co-opted, 2009, 2011–ongoing (President 2013–2016)
Fortuna, Mary Jo 2005–2013 (President 2009–2011, 2012-2013, Vice President 2011-2012, Secretary 2006–2007, 2008-2009)
Hart, Elizabeth 2007–2012 (President 2008-2009, 2011–2012, Vice President 2007–2008, Secretary 2009-2011)
Hawkins, Vanessa 2012–2013
Huggins, Tim 2008-2010
Holschier, Bob 2005–2006 (Vice President 2005–2006)
Jacapino, Lois 2007-2008 (Secretary 2007–2008)
Mortimore, John 2006-2007
Mynard, Jim co-opted 2012
O’Mara, Mick 2017-ongoing
Osman, Khalid 2006
Oshlack, Ian 2012–2014
Roff, Caroline 2010–ongoing (Secretary 2011–2015, Treasurer 2016)
Smith, Helen 2005–ongoing (Treasurer 2005–2015)
Toft-Hansen, Jens Kristian 2013–ongoing (Vice President 2013-2016) (President 2017)
Villagonzalo, Walter 2005-2006
Vondra, Jo 2006–2012 (Vice President 2008-2012)
Walters, Anne 2005–2006 (Secretary 2005–2006)
Wood, Georgina co-opted 2013